The Wait …


I waited for you to grow
Crawl, tumble, fall and stand …
I waited for you to call out for me
and walk unsteadily holding my hand …

I waited for you to grow big
grow healthy, happy and be free …
I wait since the last time you looked back
and waved your hands to me …

I waited at the door for your letter
I waited by the phone for your call …
I have waited patiently and watchfully
for the leaves to shed and the snow to fall …

I will keep waiting my child
Cherishing all memories that I save …
As I lay now underneath waiting
for a flower from you on my grave …

2 thoughts on “The Wait …

Leave a Reply

